The Planner

February 17, 2010 at 1:52 am 1 comment

The first step in my opinion to becoming organized is having a place where you can store everything you’re going to need for your day-to-day activities. Instead of relying on your memory for appointments and assignments due, or a phone number, keep track of it in a planner. It frees your mind up for remembering other things.

There are many methods of keeping a planner, but for now, I’d like to focus on what I use: a Moleskine.

I started using a Moleskine Daily Notebook in August of 2008 and have yet to find any other planner layout that works for me as well as the Moleskine. That’s the key to having and maintaining a planner. You need to use what works for you, and very often the only way to figure out what works for you is through trial and error. I’ve tried at least four or five different planner layouts since high school until I found Moleskine’s Daily Notebook.

The Moleskine Daily Notebook has the date, and space to write your appointments/deadlines on the left, and a lined sheet of paper on the right, giving you plenty of room to write extra notes.

I’ve gone as far as to color coordinate mine, writing down certain notes in certain ink colors. I’ve taken a picture of what my planner looks like so far this week, and pointed out the color coordination I use to identify different parts of my life.

I’ve used this color coordination system for the past few months, and it’s been a great success. When I’m looking for something specific, my eyes focus on one color, making it easier to find what I’m looking for.

If you notice on Tuesday and Wednesday, I’ve written on the right side of the date, but not the left. Typically, when an assignment is given to me, I write it down that day, on the left side. On the day that it is due, I write it on the right side. This method helps me keep track of how long I’ve had to complete an assignments, which is important when determining the order in which I’ll complete tasks.

Entry filed under: tools. Tags: , , .

The need to change The six week slump

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Becoming Organized” in a nutshell.

Anais Nin once said, “Life is a process of becoming, a combination of states we have to go through. Where people fail is that they wish to elect a state and remain in it. This is a kind of death.”

All I am is someone who is in the process of becoming organized, wanting to share my journey of the states I am going through. I like to think of it as lending a hand to the less organized. Giving personal testimony to what works for me and what doesn’t, helpful hints, tricks and tips, and why becoming organized was so important to me.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives


