The six week slump

February 24, 2010 at 3:21 am Leave a comment

I like to think I started out this semester strong. I was writing appointments down in my planner, doing homework days ahead of the due date. I wasn’t stressed, I was getting adequate amounts of sleep. The rest of the semester looked bright.

I can’t figure out when or where it happened, but I started slacking, and it’s catching up to me big time the week before finals. It would be embarrassing and time-consuming to list all that I’ve fallen behind on, but a word to the wise: don’t let this happen to you.

Becoming and remaining organized is a habit – and just like any new habit, it’s easy to break. Now I’m paying the price with buckling down the week before mid-terms. The plan is to get through the week completing all current assignments, and take advantage my closing shift at work on Friday to get some of the past work I’ve neglected out-of-the-way. I already warned my friends that it might feel like I’ve disappeared off the face of the planet.

It feels good to nip stuff like this in the bud early on. I know that once I force myself to sit down and get everything done, I’ll feel good knowing that I’m in good shape for the upcoming spring break. Of course, I’ll have to reevaluate my methods and mentality to make sure I don’t let the habit of organization fall by the wayside.

Entry filed under: reason. Tags: .

The Planner How to get things done

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Becoming Organized” in a nutshell.

Anais Nin once said, “Life is a process of becoming, a combination of states we have to go through. Where people fail is that they wish to elect a state and remain in it. This is a kind of death.”

All I am is someone who is in the process of becoming organized, wanting to share my journey of the states I am going through. I like to think of it as lending a hand to the less organized. Giving personal testimony to what works for me and what doesn’t, helpful hints, tricks and tips, and why becoming organized was so important to me.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives


